Board of Governors

Board of Governors Chair Recruitment

Honourable Marlin Schmidt, Minister of Advanced Education, is seeking applications from individuals interested in serving as Chair of the Board of Governors of MacEwan University.

Appointments are for a term of up to three years, and members may be eligible for re-appointment at the end of their first term.

Competition #271

Visit to learn more about this opportunity and to apply online.


The Board of Governors of Grant MacEwan University is a corporation, as set out in the Alberta Post-Secondary Learning Act. As the senior authority for the University, the Board is accountable to the Minister of Innovation and Advanced Education and ultimately, the people of Alberta. The Board manages and operates the University within its approved mandate, establishing policies to govern the affairs of the University. On an annual basis, the Board submits a Comprehensive Institutional Plan and Audited Financial Statements to the Minister.

The Grant MacEwan University Board of Governors consists of a Chair appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council, the President as an ex-officio member and twelve governors representing students, faculty, the MacEwan Staff Association, and the general public.

Presidential Search

MacEwan University’s Board of Governors is launching the search for our next president who will take office on July 1, 2017.

Find out more at