

Arts and Science Faculty Council

Minutes of Council

Meeting #: 41

Date: November 16, 2020

Time: 3:00 p.m.
Location: WebEx
Motion #s: 399-401

Present:

Copland, S Schalomon, M (Chair) Corlett, H Overend, A (Vice-Corrigall, K Chair) Coulson, J Bruins-Smith, T Cowling, E (Secretary) Das, M Alam, R Davies, K Alati, D Davis, J Amundson, L Davis, M Einarsson, R Anton, Ca Anton, Ch El-Hajj, M Avalos, E Elliott, C Badalova, L Elmorsy, M Bailey, C Epp, M Barbar, N Falconer, R Bica, I Farvolden, P Biitner, K Ferede, E Blatz, C Flaherty, L Boag, F Forth, A Boers, N Fong, J Bott, T Franczak, B Boulianne, S Friesen, K Bowles, V Gatto, D Boyd, B Gelmini, L Bratt, S Giacomin, M Buro, K Gibbs, M Byrne, C Gilliland, A Carroll, M Gulayets, M Cartledge, S Haines, J Castleton, A Hamilton, T Cobzas, D Hanlon, M

Hannan, S Harcombe, K Hayman, S Hills, M Hilts, R Hobden, S Hollingshead, D Honey, L Howell, A Hu, R Hutchinson, C Indratmo Intungane, D Irangu, J Irwin, B Islam, S Ivanescu, C Jarick, M Judge, K Jung, S Jyoti, R Kachmar, T (Ex Officio) Keiller, K, Korpesho, E Krys, L Lakowski, R Lawry-Batty, K Lee, R Llano, J Locky, D

Long, J Lorimer, S Macdonell, C Rollings-Magnusson, S Malin, M McFadyen, D McKenzie, H McKeown, N McLaughlin, D Meleshko,R Mills, S Monk, C Moscicki, M Nikish, M O'Connor, J Pang, C Panjvani, C Patterson, A Peace, K Penney, A Pollard, C Powell, R Prichard, L Prince, P Ramsey, C Rezania, V Rice, J Robinson, J Romney, J

Seredycz, M

Shaw, R Sibley, L Skeffington, J Skelhorne, A Skye, A Soroski, J Stepnisky, J Striemer, C Summers, K Su, W Swanston, T Symbaluk, D Tan Bao Tcaciuc, A Thompson, W Trimbee, A Thurairajah, K Toth, J Wagner, A Watson, D Witherell, R Woywitka, R Wu, C Yakembo, T Zadorozhna, N Zutter, C

Other - Voting	Minaker, J	Ex Officiis and	Trimbee, A	Public Members
Beke, N	Park, O	Delegates		Gatto, D
Duffy, J	Stewart, A	Gilliland, A		Hansen, T
Fallis, C	Unera, R	Hobden, S		Jeffrey, L
Foster, A	Wiznura, R	Keiller, K		Kachmar, M
Lipes, R	Zalghout, A	Malin, M		Sorenson, J
McKenzie, D		Monk, C		
Milner, K		Pollard, C		

Regrets

De Graaf, J Martin, D Nelund, A Sinclair, K

Gonzalez-Lucena, F Mewhort, R Schmaltz, R

Move into Session: The meeting was called to order by Melike Schalomon at 3:00pm.

Item I Adoption of Agenda

Motion #399 Move to approve the agenda as presented.

Overend / Biittner Consensus

Item II Approval of Minutes of Faculty Council #40, Sep 21, 2020

Motion #400 Move to approve the Minutes as presented.

Overend / Ramsey Consensus

Item III Items Arising from the Minutes

• None

Item IV Conversation with Faculty – Dr. Annette Trimbee, President

- Dr. Trimbee gave an update on the COVID Outbreak, AHS Response and the System Review
 - Thanked everyone for the tremendous work done pivoting online and engagement at open house
 - System review by company hired by the province is underway
 - Priorities: How to engage inside and outside campus, participating in system review, and launching our strategic planning process
- Dr. Trimbee answered questions from faculty regarding on-line learning, budget process and governance procedures.

Item V Dean's Report

- COVID Update
 - o MacEwan is asking anyone who can work from home to do so for Nov. $13-27^{th}$. Labs and face to face classes will continue.
- Enrollments
 - o The Fall 2020 enrollment numbers were close to normal
 - The Winter 2021 enrollment numbers, at this time, are slightly lower than normal, but expected to increase.

- The Chemistry Teaching lab will be open by Fall 2021.
- Accommodations by ADR: We must strive to be inclusive and cannot tell a student they will not be accommodated. If you have any concerns regarding accommodation for access/disability, please contact ADR.
- There is a distinction between Executive and Legislative governance.
 Collegial governance and decision making is important, and the faculty need to be involved in the decision making. Some things have to be decided at the Executive level, for example, number of instructional class hours, class sizes, budget compliance.
- Congratulation to Kris Peace for the Confederation of Alberta Faculty Associations Inaugural Distinguished Teaching award.
- Congratulations to Tamara Bruins-Smith for her appointment to the Manager, Governance position
- Class enrollment number question from the audience: Bicameral governance
 is shared model, with the academic side approving curriculum and the basic
 pedagogy of the classroom. Administration approves expenditures. The dual
 challenges of budget cuts and COVID triggered the class size increase in the
 fall. This executive decision was made at the university level and is supported
 by the Dean.

Items for Action

a) Ratification of BSc Self-Study Committee

Motion #401

That Arts and Science Council approve the following slate of members for the 2020-2023 Bachelor of Science Self-Study Committee:

- Melissa Hills, Biological Sciences
- Ron Meleshko, Computer Science
- Ion Bica, Mathematics and Statistics
- Jorge Llano, Physical Sciences
- Nicole Anderson, Psychology
- Tami Bereska, Sociology, External Member

Overend / Franczak

- We have representatives for each department instead of each discipline because that is what the process was before.
- The constitution of the committee is determined by policy and does not include student representation. There will be very broad consultation and opportunity for input by students in various ways.
- There is a policy in place that outlines exactly what is required for a program review. IAP only supports the process. One of the things that was determined, at the Dean's Council level, was that all disciplines associated with the BSc or with the BA would be considered at the same time. There was consideration of potentially breaking it up and looking at individual disciplines. But it was deemed to be too unwieldly to have an analysis for each individual major. This would also lack the cross disciplinary component and the overall program of study of the science degree.

Motion: carried

• is the self-study is not required by Quality Council, but recommended every 7 years

Item VI Items for Information

- a) Executive Minutes for September 2020
 - No questions or comments

Item VII Other Business

None

Item VIII Adjournment

Meeting was adjourned at 3:50 p.m.