## **FFAC Council Minutes**

September 24, 2018 Room 9-102, 5:30 – 7 p.m.

#### Chair

Allan Gilliland

**Attendees** 

Robert Andruchow Emily Gryba Iain Macpherson Kent Sangster Robyn Ayles Jim Guedo Darci Mallon Aubrianna Snow Raymond Baril Travis Hatt Lucille Mazo Jennifer Spencer Elisabeth Belliveau Paul Johnston Jamie Philp Isabelle Sperano Rose Clancy Milo Knauer Sony Raj Scott Spidell Tom Van Seters Neill Fitzpatrick Kate Kosinski Bill Richards Heather Fitzsimmons-Frey Annetta Latham Chandelle Rimmer Leslie Vermeer

Rose Ginther Emilie LeBel Denise Roy
Brian Gorman Michael MacDonald Dawn Sadoway

**Ex-Officio Members** 

Tina Bott Birgitta Fishwick David McLaughlin Sandy Stift
Theresa Chika-James Rosie Gakhal Cassie Prochnau Dianne Westwood

Guests

Dwight Allot Jennifer Duby Shelley Josey

Regrets

David AndersonMarcel HamelDianne NichollsPeter RocciaCraig BrenanNichole MagnesonConstanza PacherWayne WilliamsRubim de ToledoKathy NeimanLeigh Rivenbark

**Minutes** 

Christine Valentine

## 1. Call to order

The Faculty of Fine Arts and Communications (FFAC) Council was called to order at 5:30 p.m.

# 2. Approval of agenda and consent agenda

The Chair presented the agenda for the September 24, 2018 meeting for approval. The following items were approved/reviewed on the consent agenda:

- May 10, 2018 FFAC Council minutes
- September 12, 2018 FFAC Executive Committee minutes
- BFA budget update
- Attendance clause
- Notice of sessional and staff member vacancies

Motion to approve the September 24, 2018 FFAC Council agenda and consent agenda, as presented.

## FFACFC-01-09-24-2018

Moved by R. Baril and seconded by R. Ginther

## **CARRIED**

#### 3. Chair's update

Reported by A. Gilliland, Dean

Allan Gilliland noted that any requests from politicians to promote their campaigns should be turned down and forwarded to Allan. Any disruptive construction noise can be reported to the Dean's Office.

## 4. AGC update

There was no update; the next AGC meeting is scheduled for September 25, 2018.

## 5. New business

#### 5.1 New member introductions

Reported by A. Gilliland, Dean

Allan Gilliland introduced new faculty members Heather Fitzsimmons-Frey, Travis Hatt, Emilie LeBel, and Jamie Philp, who has a limited-term appointment to replace Jim Head as Head of Guitar while he is on sabbatical; welcomed back returning sessional faculty members Jennifer Spencer and Rubim de Toledo; and welcomed back returning student member Emily Gryba and new student members David Anderson, Milo Knauer, Kate Kosinski, and Aubrianna Snow.

Allan also introduced FFAC Council designates from other faculties and schools: Theresa Chika-James for School of Business; Cassie Prochnau for Faculty of Health and Community Studies; Birgitta Fishwick for School of Continuing Education; Tina Bott for Faculty of Arts and Science; Rosie Gakhal for Faculty of Nursing; and, Sandy Stift for the Library. Terri Suntjens, Director, kihêw waciston and David McLaughlin, VP, Planning & Analysis and Registrar, were also welcomed. Shelley Josey, representative for the Office of Teaching and Learning and Ken Ristau, representative from Institutional Analysis and Planning, and attending sessional faculty members were welcomed as guests.

## 5.2 Performance Evaluation Criteria 2018-2019

Presented by A. Gilliland, Dean

Allan Gilliland presented the 2018-2019 Performance Evaluation Criteria on behalf of the Executive Committee to the FFAC Council for decision. The Executive Committee reviewed the most recent version of the Performance Evaluation Criteria and recommended that no changes be made to the existing wording as it aligns well with the language in the Collective Agreement.

Motion to approve the 2018-2019 Performance Evaluation Criteria.

#### FFACFC-02-09-24-2018

Moved by J. Spencer and seconded by R. Andruchow

# **CARRIED**

## 5.3 Ratification of external Tenure and Promotion members

Appointments of common external members were guided by an open call for volunteers by the Governance Administrator on behalf of the Dean. In making these decisions, Department Chairs were consulted and asked for recommendations. The proposed slate represents the members who have agreed to serve on Tenure and Promotion Committees for the 2018-2019 academic year.

Motion to approve the following common external members and alternates to serve on Tenure and Promotion Committees for the 2018-2019 academic year:

Jim Guedo (Theatre) with Scott Spidell (Theatre) as External Alternate
Michael MacDonald (Music) with Raymond Baril (Music) as External Alternate
Darci Mallon (Art and Design) with Wayne Williams (Art and Design) as External Alternate

#### FFACFC-03-09-24-2018

Moved by B. Richards and seconded by P. Johnston

#### **CARRIED**

### 5.4 Department Review Task Force final report

Reported by L. Mazo, Chair, FFAC Department Review Task Force

Lucille Mazo presented the final report of the FFAC Department Review Task Force. The task force recommended to FFAC Council to maintain the current five-department structure and to review it again in no more than three years. Having completed their mandate, the Task Force was subsequently dissolved.

Motion that the FFAC Council maintain the current five-department structure and that it will be reviewed again within the next three years.

#### FFACFC-04-09-24-2018

Moved by D. Roy and seconded by R. Andruchow

#### **CARRIED**

Motion that the FFAC Department Review Task Force be dissolved, effective immediately.

#### FFACFC-05-09-24-2018

Moved by R. Baril and seconded by S. Spidell

## **CARRIED**

## 6. Committee business & reports

## 6.1 Curriculum Committee

Reported by C. Rimmer, Chair, FFAC Curriculum Committee

A new online syllabus system will be launched this year and consequently, no revisions or new courses should be done in the current OLS, though it may still be used to search course records. In the interim, faculty can work with their chairs to create or revise existing courses. Any course development work going forward will be completed in consultation with the Dean's Office prior to going for approval to Curriculum Committee to address financial implications and impact on programs of study.

## 6.2 Research Committee

Reported by L. Mazo, Chair, FFAC Research Committee

The committee met once last week to review their Terms of Reference and will bring changes forward for decision to the next FFAC Council meeting. The mandate of this committee is to draft a Research Strategic Plan that aligns both with FFAC research goals and the MacEwan strategic plan. The Faculty Development Committee, now the Research Adjudication Committee, became a sub-committee of Research Committee.

## 6.3 Research Adjudication Committee

Reported by D. Roy, Chair, FFAC Research Adjudication Committee

Project and Dissemination Fund applications were distributed via email and are due October 15. Student Undergraduate Research Fund applications are due October 31. Applications should be sent to FFACAdmin@macewan.ca

## 7. Open discussion

Members of the FFAC Council discussed the forthcoming cannabis policy and asked for someone to come speak to FFAC Council, potentially at a future meeting. A strategic plan based on a culmination of information gathered from the spring town hall meeting, online survey, and two facilitator-led sessions with the FFAC leadership team, will come forward to FFAC in the next couple weeks. This strategic plan will include targeted dates with specific goals for FFAC to accomplish over the next three years.

# 8. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 6:15 p.m.