# Faculty of Health and Community Studies Faculty Council Annual Report 2017-18 June 2018

The Health and Community Studies Faculty Council is pleased to submit to Academic Governance Council (AGC) an Annual Report of our activities for the 2017-18 academic year.

### 1. Membership 2017-18

<b>1. ADMINISTRATION</b>		
Dean	Fred McGinn	
Associate Dean	Sharon Hobden (2018 administrative leave)	
Interim Associate Dean	Cassie Prochnau (2018)	
Director, Finance	Heather Pick	
Librarian	Lindsey Whitson	
2. FACULTY		
Department of Allied Health and Human Performance		
Catherine (Cassie) Prochnau		Jeffrey Moggach
Adrian Popescu		Jiulin Wang
Brenda Heffernan		Jody Marshall
Cynthia Puddu		John Valentine
Darren Tellier		Paul Chahal
Dave Kato		Tara Winsor
Department of Child and Youth Care		
Donna Jamieson		Gerard Bellefeuille
Ahna Berikoff		Jenny McGrath
Catherine Hedlin		
Department of Human Ser	vices and Early Learning	
<i>Department of Human Services and Early Learning</i> Tricia Lirettte		Lee Makovichuk
Pat Moore-Juzwishin		Margaret Mykietyshyn
(seconded to Nursing)		Nancy Thomas
(seconded to Nursing) Karen Heslop		Nancy Thomas
Katen Hestop		
Department of Public Safe	ty and Justice Studies	
Kevin Hood		Michelle Andrews
Danielle Campbell		Tim Williams
Fons Chafe		Terri Yaremko
School of Social Work		
School of Social Work		Maria Cruzth
Kathaleen Quinn Amber Dion		Maria Smyth Valerie Ouedraogo
		Andrea Newberry-Koroluk
Danielle Larocque		Andrea Newberry-Koroluk Anna Azulia
Erin Gray Hongmei Tong		Anna Azuna
nonginor rong		

# **3. VOTING (Elected)**

Sessional Academic Staff: Tim Enger, Allied Health & Human Performance Derek Chewka, Social Work Kerry Heaney-Dalton, Child & Youth Care Fiona Gironella, Public Safety & Justice Studies Shauna Pilipchuk, Human Services & Early Learning

#### Students:

Kassidy Green, Bachelor of Social Work 2<sup>nd</sup> representative TBA

#### 4. NON-VOTING (Ex-Officio)

Deb Saucier, President John Corlett, Provost and VP Academic Mike Sekulic, University Registrar Debbie McGugan, Dean of Libraries Allan Gilliland, Dean, FFAC Craig Monk, Dean, FAS Vince Salyers, Dean, FoN Wanda Costen, Dean, SoB Terri Suntjens, Manager, Kihêw waciston

# 2. Items addressed by Faculty Council:

- Sharon Hobden was unanimously reappointed for another term as Associate Dean. She began her one year administrative leave January 2018. Cassie Prochnau was appointed as Interim Associate Dean for January December 2018.
- Bylaws updated to reflect new language of Collective Agreement.
- New degree proposal for the Bachelor of Early Childhood Curriculum Studies was submitted to APPC.

# 3. Significant Program Changes:

- Admission Criteria Changes: The following programs went through admission criteria changes:
  - Correctional Services
  - Bachelor of Applied Human Services Administration
  - Bachelor of Child & Youth Care
  - Bachelor of Social Work
  - Bachelor of Early Childhood Curriculum Studies
- Several programs went to competitive admissions to address concerns of oversubscribed programs.

# 4. Presentations:

The following presentations were made to Council:

- Collective Agreement Carrie Hunting, Craig Monk
- Research Cynthia Zutter
- Social Innovation Institute Leo Wong
- Academic Policy Process Review Mark Arnison
- Demonstrations on Campus Ian Hanson

# 5. Meeting Dates for the 2017-18 academic year were:

Wednesday, September 13, 2017 Wednesday, October 25, 2017 Wednesday, November 22, 2017 Wednesday, February 28, 2018 Wednesday, April 25, 2018

Reviewed by Academic Governance Council on September 25, 2018