

Faculty of Nursing Council Annual Report 2017-2018 July 18, 2018

Faculty Council is the senior academic governance body of the Faculty of Nursing, providing a forum for faculty members to exercise self-governance in academic matters. Faculty Council fosters discussion, shares information, approves recommendations from its committees, and makes recommendations related to the Faculty of Nursing to Academic Governance Council.

1. Membership 2017-2018

MEMBERS Administration Dean Vince Salvers Cheryl Pollard Associate Dean Finance & Business Heather Pick **Operations Director** Centre for Professional Nursing Education Gail Couch - Faculty Member Shirley Galenza - Director Kari Krell - Faculty Member Joan Mills – Faculty Member Pauline Mitchell – Faculty Member Kathryn Ozum - Academic Coordinator Nicole Simpson - Academic Coordinator Jessica Wyllie - Academic Coordinator Clinical Simulation Centre Colette Foisy-Doll - Professional Resource Faculty & Director Cynthia Gundermann - Professional Resource Faculty Sheena Simpkins Gibbs – Professional Resource Faculty Department of Nursing Science Gabriel Barrington-Moss - Faculty Member Keri-Ann Berga – Faculty Member Elizabeth Burgess-Pinto - Faculty Member Linda Cavanaugh - Faculty Member Andrea Chute - Faculty Member Mona Haimour - Faculty Member Rob Halisky – Faculty Advisor Tanya Heuver - Faculty Member Sharon Johnston - Faculty Member Paul Kerr - Faculty Member Ann Little - Faculty Member

As of April 2018

	Colleen Maykut – Faculty Member
	Lisa McKendrick-Calder – Faculty Member
	Kathleen Miller – Faculty Member
	Margaret Milner – Chair
	Agnes Mitchell – Faculty Member
	Raj Narnaware – Faculty Member
	Melanie Neumeier – Faculty Member
	Sheri Norum – Professional Resource Faculty
	Judee Onyskiw – Faculty Member
	Binthi Samuel – Faculty Member
	Yvonne Shelast – Faculty Member
	Holly Symonds-Brown – Faculty Member
	Leanne Topola – Faculty Member
	Elizabeth White-MacDonald – Faculty Member
Department of Psychiatric Nursing	
	Meghan Ableson – Faculty Advisor
	Emily Khalema – Faculty Member
	Ken Kustiak – Faculty Member
	Tracey Moore-Eklund – Faculty Member
	Rosie Gakhal - Professional Resource Faculty
	Pat Moore-Juzwishin – Interim Chair
	Brian Parker – Chair
	Jennifer Rice – Faculty Member
	Peter Vermeulen – Faculty Member
	Randi Ziorio Dunlop – Faculty Member
VOTING (Elected)	
Nurse Educator (DNS)	Jamie Turpin
Nurse Educator (DNS)	Mandy McDonald
Nurse Educator (DNS)	Holly Newell
Nurse Educator (DPN)	Caitlin Evans
Nurse Educator (DPN)	Sydney Mosiuk
Sessional Academic Staff	Donna McLean
Librarian	Jody Nelson
Student	Amanda Metcalfe
Student	Sam Karras
NON-VOTING (Ex-Officio)	
President	Deborah Saucier
Provost and Vice President Academic	John Corlett
Registrar	Mike Sekulic
kihêw waciston Director	Terri Suntjens
Dean of Library	Debbie McGugan

2. Academic Items Addressed by Faculty Council:

- Performance evaluation criteria established for 2017-2018
- Committee representation on Faculty of Nursing and University level committees.
- New committees and terms of reference established:
 - Workload Review Panel
 - Sabbatical Leave Recommendation Committee
- Faculty of Nursing communication processes
- Patterns of student appeals
- Faculty Council Bylaws amendments
- Faculty of Nursing reorganization and creation of the new Department of Interprofessional Education and Simulation Learning (DIESL)

3. Program & Curriculum Items

- Program Changes
 - Psychiatric Nursing program course substitutions and program regulations.
 - BScN course substitutions.

• Master Course Syllabus Changes

- HLST 320 Health & Society
- HLST 321 Advanced Skills in Therapeutic Modalities
- PNRS 320 Trends and Issues in Mental Health Care
- PNRS 422 Leadership for Psychiatric Nursing Practice
- NURS 251 Nursing Care, Diverse Populations

4. Items of Governance referred by Other University Bodies

- Academic Policy Process Review Lynne Honey & David McLaughlin
- Demonstrations on Campus Policy Ian Hanson

5. Information Items

- Indigenous Initiatives Update Margaret Milner
- Library Update Jody Nelson
- IT Management Update Holly Symonds-Brown
- International & Global Health Initiatives Update Liz Burgess-Pinto
- WRSCASN Executive Report Liz White-MacDonald

6. Presentations:

- New President's Introduction Deborah Saucier
- Communications, Marketing & Web Services Overview Aimee Hill, Kevin Spila & Shelagh Kubish
- Social Innovation Opportunities Leo Wong & Heather Braid
- Nepal Internship Student Experience Alexis Lema & Kara Toohey
- Student Ombudsperson Overview Cathryn Heslop
- Spirit of Well-Being Update Colette Foisy-Doll

7. Meeting Dates for the 2016-17 academic year:

- September 8, 2017
- October 3, 2017
- December 1, 2017
- January 30, 2018
- March 15, 2018

Reviewed by Faculty of Nursing Council Executive August 14, 2018.

Reviewed by Faculty of Nursing Council August 22, 2018.

Reviewed by Academic Governance Council on September 25, 2018.