

lacEwan NEWS RELEASE

Wednesday, November 10, 2021

Three honorary doctorates announced at MacEwan University

Edmonton, **Alberta** – MacEwan University is proud to announce that three distinguished Canadians will receive honorary doctorates as part of MacEwan University's Fall 2021 convocation ceremonies.

Dr. Di Brandt, Carola Cunningham and Dave Tuccaro will each be awarded a Doctor of the University, *honoris causa*, and will speak to the graduating class.

"I'm so pleased that these three incredible individuals have accepted an honorary degree from MacEwan University," says Dr. Annette Trimbee, president and vice-chancellor. "Dr. Brandt, Ms. Cunningham and Mr. Tuccaro are all examples of disruptive thinkers who have had an indelible impact on their communities. They are the perfect inspiration for our graduates as they leave MacEwan prepared to change the world in their own ways."

MacEwan University awards honorary degrees to individuals with significant achievements in their areas of expertise. Nominations are reviewed by a committee that assists the president in making a recommendation to the university's Board of Governors, which then makes the final selection.

Fall convocation ceremonies will be held at Edmonton's Winspear Centre.

Monday, November 15, 3 p.m. Honorary Doctorate address - Carola Cunningham

Tuesday, November 16, 9:30 a.m. Honorary Doctorate address - Dr. Di Brandt

Tuesday, November 16, 2 p.m. Honorary Doctorate address - Dave Tuccaro

See below for biographies of MacEwan University's three honorary doctorate recipients. More information about honorary doctorates can be found on MacEwan.ca/HonoraryDoctorate.

For more information, please contact communications@macewan.ca.



lacEwan NEWS RELEASE



Dr. Di Brandt, Doctor of the University 2021

Dr. Di Brandt has been a leader in the creative arts in Canada for over thirty years. She has published more than a dozen books of poetry, fiction, creative non-fiction and literary criticism. She has collaborated with numerous writers, artists, musicians and scholars. She has served as an influential teacher, editor and festival host in diverse communities, creating new professional opportunities for others. She has received many accolades and recognitions for her writing, including the Gerald Lampert Award for "best first book of poetry in Canada," the CAA National Poetry Prize, the Foreword Gold Medal for Fiction (with Jane Finlay-Young and Annie Jacobsen), the Manitoba McNally Robinson Book Award and the Gabrielle Roy Prize for "best book of literary criticism in Canada" (with Barbara Godard).

Her best known poetry titles include *questions i asked my mother, Agnes in the sky, Now You Care, Walking to Mojácar* (with French and Spanish translations by Charles Leblanc and Ari Belathar), and *Glitter & fall:* Laozi's *Dao De Jing, Trans*inhal*ations.* Her forthcoming book is *The Sweetest Dance on Earth: New and Selected Poems.*



Carola Cunningham, Doctor of the University 2021

Carola Cunningham has over 48 years of experience in education, justice, community wellness and addictions recovery. She has designed, developed and delivered programming specifically tailored to the needs of the Indigenous community, and in particular, those that have high-risk lifestyles.

Throughout her career, Carola has demonstrated a strong dedication towards bridging cultural differences and creating understanding. This work continues in her role as CEO of Niginan Housing Ventures, an organization that builds, designs and develops housing initiatives primarily for Indigenous people, such as Ambrose Place, a harm reduction, permanent supportive housing program that is guided by an Indigenous world view.



Dave Tuccaro, Doctor of the University 2021

Dave is a member of the Mikisew Cree First Nation in Fort Chipewyan and is the president and CEO of six successful companies. His personal and professional commitment is to create opportunities for Aboriginal people at every level of education and every level of employment.

Although Dave's businesses are now spread throughout Western Canada, his core businesses – Neegan Development Corporation Ltd., NTS Ltd., Tuc's Contracting, Re-stock and Tuccaro Property Services – are based out of the Fort McMurray area.

Dave is very active in the Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal communities. He is the founder of the Northeastern Aboriginal Business Association, which features over 100 member companies with combined revenues of over \$1 billion. He is a member of the National Task Force on Oil Sands Strategies and the National Aboriginal Financing Task Force, and served as Chair of the Aboriginal Business Canada Market Expansion Group. Dave has sat on the Board of the Regional Health Authority as well as the Alberta Chamber of Resources. As Board Chair of Indspire, an Indigenous-led registered charity that invests in the education of Indigenous people, Dave is helping to set strategic direction for the National Aboriginal Achievement Awards and deepen the organization's support of K-12 education and Indigenous teachers across Canada.