

### 1.0 ASSOCIATED POLICY

Honorary Doctorates Policy

#### 2.0 DEFINITIONS

# **Honorary Doctorate Selection Committee**

A Committee, composed primarily of General Faculties Council members, that selects from amongst honorary doctorate nominations those nominees that are reviewed by the University President for potential recommendation to the Board of Governors of Grant MacEwan University.

### 3.0 PROCEDURE ELEMENTS

- 3.1 The Office of University Governance is responsible for maintaining an ongoing process by which eligible individuals may be nominated.
- 3.2 The Honorary Doctorate Selection Committee shall review the list of nominations provided by the Office of University Governance and select nominees for the consideration of the University President.
- 3.3 The Honorary Doctorate Selection Committee shall be assembled at least twice a year, on a schedule that will allow the President to make recommendations to the Board of Governors of Grant MacEwan University ahead of fall convocation ceremonies and spring convocation ceremonies.
- 3.4 The MacEwan Honorary Doctorate Selection Committee is composed of the following ten members:
  - 1. The University President, ex officio, as Chair;
  - 2. The Chancellor, *ex officio*;
  - 3. The Provost, ex officio:
  - 4. Five current members of General Faculties Council from the following constituent groups, as appointed by General Faculties Council Executive Committee:
    - a) One Dean or Academic Associate Vice-President,
    - b) One member of the Students' Association of MacEwan University,
    - c) Three members of the Grant MacEwan University Faculty Association;
  - 5. One member of the MacEwan University Alumni Association, as appointed by the Alumni Advisory Council at MacEwan University;
  - 6. One member of the MacEwan Staff Association, as appointed by the University President, to serve a one-year term.
- 3.5 Appointed members of the MacEwan Honorary Doctorate Selection Committee will serve a term of no more than two consecutive years as specified by the appointing body at the time of appointment.
- 3.6 The University President shall review the list of nominees selected by the MacEwan Honorary Doctorate Selection Committee and may make recommendations on awarding Honorary Doctorates to the Board of Governors of Grant MacEwan University.
- 3.7 Should the University President choose not to recommend a nominee selected by the MacEwan Honorary Doctorate Selection Committee for a period of three years, or should the Board of Governors of Grant MacEwan University choose not to accept a recommendation on two separate occasions, the nomination will be deactivated. Nominees whose nominations have been deactivated remain eligible for future nomination.



# 4.0 RELATED POLICIES, PROCEDURES, FORMS AND OTHER DOCUMENTS

- Honorary Doctorates Policy
- Honorary Doctorates Nomination Form

# 5.0 ACCOUNTABILITY

# **Responsible Office**

The Office of University Governance

## 6.0 HISTORY

### **Relevant Dates**

Approved: **21.01.11** 

Effective: **21.02.02** 

Next Review: **26.02** 

## **Modification History**

21.01.11 New Procedure approved by GFC Executive motion #GFC-EC-03-11-01-2021.

Procedure effective upon approval of associated new Policy by GFC and Board of

Governors.