Faculty Development's vision is to be at the heart of MacEwan University's international reputation for teaching excellence.

The MacEwan University Faculty Development Program holds a leadership role in the university community’s commitment to excellence and innovation in teaching and learning. Through responsive programming, the promotion of evidence-based practice, and professional development funding, we support faculty in their continuous pursuit of teaching excellence. By helping faculty throughout their careers to enhance and expand their skills, we work to improve student learning and success.

Faculty Development provides programming and services that include both centralized and decentralized components to enrich the professional life of faculty and to meet the organizational needs of MacEwan University.

The Faculty Development Committee

The Faculty Development Committee fosters faculty development, including the scholarship of teaching and learning, provides advice and feedback about faculty development programming to the Office of Teaching and Learning Services, and establishes professional development in compliance with the Grant MacEwan University Faculty Association Collective Agreement and policy C5090: Faculty Development. 

Current Policies

Faculty Development Committee

The Faculty Development Committee, comprised of six faculty representatives, two administration representatives and chaired by the Coordinator of Faculty Development, acts on behalf of the university to establish and administer policies and procedures for the allocation of Faculty Development funds and to administer faculty development programming and services.

Current Faculty Development Committee Members (2017-18)

Faculty (voting)

name department Faculty term end
Jeffrey Davis Physical Sciences FAS June 30, 2018
Makarand Gulawan IB, MKTG, Strategy and Law SB June 30, 2018
Colleen Maykut  Nursing Science FN June 30, 2019
Suzanne Oswald English as an Additional Language SCE June 30, 2018
Jody Marshall Allied Health and Human Performance FHCS June 30, 2019
Tom Van Seters Music FFAC June 30, 2018
Valla McLean University Library PRF June 30, 2019


Dean (voting)

Fred McGinn, Dean, Faculty of Health and Community Studies

Ex-Officio (voting)

Deborah Saucier, President and AGC Chair
Cynthia Zutter, Provost and Vice President Academic

Ex-Officio (non-voting)

Carrie Hunting     Director, Faculty Relations

Admin Support (non-voting)

Shelley Josey        Faculty Development Administrator

FAS = Faculty of Arts and Science
SB = School of Business
FN = Faculty of Nursing
SCE = School of Continuing Education
FHCS = Faculty of Health and Community Studies
FFAC = Faculty of Fine Arts and Communication
PRF = Professional Resource Faculty