1971: Grant MacEwan Community College is established, in Scona Campus (Strathcona High School). The college is named in honour of Dr. J.W. (Grant) MacEwan. The first classes are held in September. The first programs offered included: Nursing; Social Worker; Child Care and Psychotechnician.
1973: The Jasper Place Campus opens in Edmonton's west end, leasing space from elementary schools.
1974: Construction begins on the Mill Woods Campus (which became known as MacEwan's South Campus).
1975: On June 17, the Board of Governors approves the griffin as MacEwan's athletic symbol.
1976: The Mill Woods Campus opens in the city's southeast corner. The original Scona Campus closes.


1981: The Jasper Place Campus re-opens in a purpose-built building (currently the Centre for the Arts and Communications) on Stony Plain Road and 156 Street.
1985: MacEwan Alumni Association (now Alumni Relations and Services) is established.
1988: Grant MacEwan Community College receives approval to offer university transfer programs.
1988: The provincial government commits $100 million for the construction of City Centre Campus.


1991: Construction begins on the new City Centre Campus building on former CN rail yards, located on the north edge of downtown Edmonton.
1993: City Centre Campus opens.
1996: Grant MacEwan Community College celebrates its 25th anniversary.
1999: The college is renamed Grant MacEwan College.


2002: On July 1, Alberta College is officially integrated with Grant MacEwan College, making the building the college's fourth campus.
2005: Student Residence opens at City Centre Campus.
2006: MacEwan launches two undergraduate degrees: Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Child and Youth Care.
2007: The Robbins Health Learning Centre opens in September.
2008: The university's Coat of Arms is approved by the Board of Governors on April 10.
2009: Grant MacEwan University becomes Alberta's sixth university on September 24.

2012: MacEwan University is accepted as a member of the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada (AUCC).
2013: The university is officially rebranded as MacEwan University for all public communication and marketing purposes, though officially the name remains Grant MacEwan University.
2013: MacEwan University becomes the 17th member of Canada West Universities Athletics Association, as a probationary member.
2014: MacEwan University begins competing in Canada West in basketball, cross country running, soccer and volleyball.
2017: Allard Hall, which houses the Faculty of Fine Arts and Communications formerly located in the west end, opens its doors on September 27.