Photo of author Michael Crummey smiling

MacEwan University’s Book of the Year for 2018/19 is Sweetland by Michael Crummey

Over the course of the 2018/19 academic year, students at MacEwan University will be reading and studying Michael Crummey’s novel Sweetland. Then, during the week of March 18, the author will join us for a week of class visits, workshops, and meetings with MacEwan students and faculty. The week’s events will culminate with a gala public reading and on-stage interview on the evening of March 21.

In anticipation of his visit, Michael Crummey writes: “I was kind of stunned to hear Sweetland had been chosen as the MacEwan Book of the Year. It’s always a thrill to see a book out in the world that’s finding readers long after it's been published. I'm looking forward to hearing what folks at MacEwan make of the story."

About the Book of the Year

Since its inception in 1997, the Book of the Year program has been guided by a committee of faculty, staff and students.

Each year, a work of contemporary Canadian literature is chosen by the committee from nominations by the university community. The committee bases its selection on the book’s appeal and its potential to generate interest and discussion at MacEwan University.

In addition to the book being taught in classes across the university, an exciting tradition of this program is the on-campus visit of the book’s author to discuss the book with students, staff and faculty. Activities held during the author’s visit include readings, workshops, Wall of Fame reception, and a student contest.