Next stop: Station Eleven

September 1, 2016

image-story-station_elevenMacEwan University names Emily St. John Mandel’s Station Eleven as the 2016/17 Book of the Year

What do you get when you combine a plague, the Great Lakes, a troupe of actors and musicians, and pop culture references? Literary science fiction from a celebrated young author, of course.

On August 31, MacEwan University announced that its Book of the Year for 2016/17 is Emily St. John Mandel’s Station Eleven. The novel will be taught in courses across the university and celebrated when the author visits in March 2017.

“I am delighted and honoured that Station Eleven has been chosen as this year's selection,” says Emily. “MacEwan's Book of the Year program seems truly unique and quite wonderful, and I'm greatly looking forward to visiting the MacEwan campus in 2017.”

The critically acclaimed, bestselling novel weaves together several stories that take place before, during and after a plague that wipes out life as we know it. From the actor who dies on stage before the end of the world, to the travelling theatre troupe that encounters a self-proclaimed prophet in the aftermath, the novel tells a story about fate, beauty and hope during times of darkness and tragedy.

Among its accolades, Station Eleven won the Arthur C. Clarke Award and the Toronto Book Award, and was longlisted for the International Dublin Literary Award and CBC’s Canada Reads 2016.

Visit MacEwan.ca/MacEwanBook for more information.

Get MacEwan University news delivered to your inbox. Sign up for our weekly e-newsletter.

More stories about MacEwan’s connection to the arts:

Get MacEwan University news delivered to your inbox.
Sign up for our weekly e-newsletter