Announcing the 2020 Distinguished Teaching Award recipients

June 8, 2020 | Campus Life

At MacEwan University, we celebrate our faculty members and the incredible work they do teaching our students. Every year, through nominations from students, staff and faculty, the Distinguished Teaching Awards recognize outstanding teaching at the undergraduate level and commitment to educational leadership by furthering the university’s educational goals.

“MacEwan University has a well-earned reputation for the quality of our instruction,” says Dr. Craig Monk, provost & vice-president, Academic. “Teaching award winners, recognized by their colleagues after having been acknowledged by their students themselves, represent so much of that to which we all aspire as faculty members here.”

The 2020 recipients are Tanya Heuver (assistant professor, nursing practice), Dr. Samuel Mugo (associate professor, physical sciences), Neeraj Prakash (sessional faculty member, English) and Dr. Andrea Wagner (assistant professor, political science).

Furthermore, Wagner and Mugo are both accomplished researchers who have received recognition from the university for their past work.

“Many of our best researchers pride themselves on their success in engaging students in their scholarly activity,” says Dr. Monk. “It is significant to see our award-winning instructors with research accolades, and it speaks to our institutional success in getting right the balance between teaching and research.”

About this year’s recipients

Tanya Heuver, Assistant Professor, Nursing Practice

Heuver's background is in child health with a specific focus on pediatric cardiology, cardiovascular surgery and critical care. She has worked at the Stollery Children’s Hospital, the Hospital for Sick Children (Toronto, Ontario), and the King Fahad National Guard Hospital (Riyadh, Saudi Arabia). Her clinical practice has included working as a registered nurse, clinical nurse educator and nurse practitioner.

Heuver has been teaching at MacEwan since 2007. She has taught courses in the second, third and fourth years of the Bachelor of Science in Nursing program and is the chair of the Department of Nursing Practice.

Dr. Samuel Mugo, Associate Professor, Physical Sciences

Dr. Mugo graduated with a PhD in analytical chemistry from Memorial University of Newfoundland in 2006. He took a two-year Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) postdoctoral position at Queens University, Ontario (2007 to 2008) where his focus was development of microfluidic mass spectrometry platforms for clinical diagnosis. He has been an assistant professor (analytical chemistry) at MacEwan University since 2008.

Mugo is involved in teaching and curriculum development of analytical and environmental chemistry courses, physical science field skills and independent research courses. He actively engages undergraduate students in his research.

In 2018, he was named one of MacEwan’s first Board of Governors Research Chairs.

Neeraj Prakash, sessional faculty member, English

Prakash has a background in classical and comparative literature, and a specialized focus on Indian Sastra texts, depictions of the postcolonial experience and South Asian diasporic literature. He has dedicated his time at MacEwan to making MacEwan University’s motto, Discendo Floremus, “through learning we flourish,” a reality for students through innovative teaching practices that underscore inclusive, empathy-based learning.

Aside from teaching various English and comparative literature courses, Prakash has also worked closely with vulnerable students through the innovative University 101/102 courses, a program of study designed to help vulnerable students reach their full academic potential.

Dr. Andrea Wagner, Assistant Professor, Political Science

In addition to her role as assistant professor at MacEwan, Dr. Wagner is a consultant for Bertelsmann Foundation, responsible for providing regular updates and analytical reports on Romania’s latest anti-corruption efforts. Her research focuses on corruption and rent-seeking in the European Union, specifically on the importance of anti-corruption agencies in Central and Eastern Europe. She examines how domestic and international rhetoric directed against highly successful anti-corruption agencies can undermine the fight against corruption.

In 2019, Wagner was awarded the Jean Monnet Chair through the European Union’s Erasmus+ program to advance coursework and research on the European Union.



New program recognizes and supports exceptional scholarly activity

Dr. Sandy Jung and Dr. Samuel Mugo are MacEwan’s first research chairs.

Dr. Andrea Wagner awarded Jean Monnet Chair

Prestigious grant enhances teaching and research on the European Union.


Get MacEwan University news delivered to your inbox.
Sign up for our weekly e-newsletter