Meet our distinguished teachers

December 5, 2017

Lisa Prichard receives 2017 Distinguished Teaching Award

Four faculty members received one of MacEwan University’s highest honours in 2017 for outstanding teaching and their commitment to education leadership. Ahna Berikoff, Sandy Jung, Etayankara (Murli) Muralidharan and Lisa Prichard are the most recent Distinguished Teaching Award recipients.

Your prof could be next!

Nominations for 2018 Distinguished Teaching Awards are open until December 15, 2017.


The idea of teaching started when I was being taught.

I went to a small, teaching-focused, liberal arts university. There were no graduate students, and even though there was some research being done, the focus was on the education of undergraduates and integrating students into the professors’ research activities. I had such a good time learning that way that my goal became to teach at a place like that.

I had a fantastic biology teacher and some good English teachers in high school, so when I began university I thought I'd major in English or biology. But once I was there I figured out that I had more aptitude for biology, so that’s the path I chose. But my biology profs weren’t the only fantastic teachers I had. I may not have as much facility in math or chemistry, but I appreciated them more because I had such a good learning experience.

I love what I teach and that’s what motivates me. I want to encourage other people to love cell biology as much as I do.That’s what keeps my job fresh and exciting.

—Lisa Prichard, Associate Professor, Biological Sciences

Get MacEwan University news delivered to your inbox. Sign up for our weekly e-newsletter.

Read more about our amazing faculty members

Get MacEwan University news delivered to your inbox.
Sign up for our weekly e-newsletter