Year-end banquet recognizes student athletes

Mar 30 2012

Griffins student athletes celebrated their achievements at the MacEwan Athletics awards banquet on Thursday night. Awards were given to athletes who demonstrated excellence, teamwork and commitment in their sport, and to those athletes who had shown visible improvement over the year.

The top awards for 2011/2012 were Murray Orvis Team of the Year Award, which was awarded to the women’s hockey team, and the Male and Female Athletes of the Year, which went to Management Studies student Adam Bruce (golf) and Bachelor of Science student Alexandra Gordichuk (cross-country).

Along with being named ACAC Player of the Year, Adam helped propel his team into the top 20 of Golf Canada’s national collegiate rankings for the first time.

In addition to her athlete of the year award, Alexandra received the Most Outstanding Contribution award for her team and made history by becoming the first Griffins cross-country runner to be named CCAA All-Canadian.

Two other recipients of the Most Outstanding Contribution award, Kendra Huculak (women’s volleyball) and Zach Brown (men’s volleyball) have had an exceptional week, as both were named Academic All-Canadians by the Sport Information Resource Centre and the Canadian Colleges Athletic Association (SIRC-CCAA) for achieving academic honours and for being name a league all-star in their sport.

Other MacEwan University students named SIRC-CCAA Academic All-Canadian athletes were Jessilyn Fairbanks (women’s basketball) and Alana Pinkoski (curling).

Complete list of award winners from the 2011-12 season:

Jacqueline Sealy Female Athlete of the Year

Alexandra Gordichuk – Women’s cross country

Bill Dean Male Athlete of the Year Award

Adam Bruce – Men’s golf

Murray Orvis Team of the Year Award

Women’s Hockey

Minor Official of the Year

Lynn Squires

Graduating Student-Athletes

Courtney Knox, Kristen Monasterski, Justin Versteeg, Kathryn Schultz, Danielle Baxter, Loralie Gingras, Jayden Skoye, Sara Marouelli, Jenni Perri, Hilary Niederhaus, Brittney Peacher, Lucas Curran, Tyron Ehiwe, Adam Kerr, Kendra Huculak, Karly Melnyk, Wyatt Dogterom, Tej Pandher, Mark Van Durnnen

Team Award Winners

Women’s Basketball

Most Improved – Erin MacKinnon

Most Outstanding Contribution – Kristen Monasterski

Men’s Basketball

Most Improved – Adam Boyd

Most Outstanding Contribution – Mitch Lonsberry

Cross-Country Running

Most Improved (women) – Kasi Boyd

Most Outstanding Contribution (women) – Alexandra Gordichuk

Most Improved (men) – Andrew Peters

Most Outstanding Contribution (men) – Kirk Sundt


Most Improved (women) – Carla Winter

Most Outstanding Contribution (women) – Kathryn Schultz

Most Improved (men) – Ben Bissell

Most Outstanding Contribution (men) – Jordan Steinke

Women’s Soccer

Most Improved – Joni Nedeljak

Most Outstanding Contribution – Sara Marouelli

Men’s Soccer

Most Improved – Shina Olantonde

Most Outstanding Contribution – Tommy Machul


Most Improved (women) – Rachel Whyte

Most Outstanding Contribution (women) – Megan Vermillion

Most Improved (men) – Cody Hancock

Most Outstanding Contribution (men) – Adam Bruce

Women’s Hockey

Most Improved – Kyla Lorenz

Most Outstanding Contribution – Jayden Skoye

Men’s Hockey

Most Improved – Darren Tarasoff

Most Outstanding Contribution – Adam Stephen

Women’s Volleyball

Most Improved – Tyra Adamic

Most Outstanding Contribution – Kendra Huculak

Men’s Volleyball

Most Improved – Jake Von Der Ohe

Most Outstanding Contribution – Zach Brown