Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC)

NSERC USRA Grant

Full-time Research | All students | March 30, 2018

The Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) sponsors annual Undergraduate Student Research Awards (USRA). These summer student awards are intended to stimulate student interest in research in the natural sciences and engineering, encourage student interest in graduate studies and promote a research career in these fields. Students gain research work experience that complements their studies.

A faculty supervisor oversees the work of the award recipient. Potential faculty supervisors for 2018 application have a minimum of $5,625 in funding ($4,500 from NSERC + $1,125 minimum contribution from the university/faculty supervisor) for 16 weeks of full-time work.

USRA Student Application Form

USRA Committee Terms of Reference 

 

Faculty supervisors

Biological Sciences

  • Dr. Kevin Judge, judgek3@macewan.ca
    Research Area: Sexual selection and the ecology of mating systems

Computer Science

  • Dr. Dana Cobzas, cobzasd@macewan.ca
    Research Area: Sparse methods on manifolds of images and shapes for significant anatomy detection linked to disease

Mathematics and Statistics

  • Dr. Cristina Anton, popescuc@macewan.ca
    Research Area: Differential equations, stochastic processes and their applications

  • Dr. Elaine Beltaos, beltaose@macewan.ca
    Research Area: Algebra and its applications to physics and other sciences

  • Dr. Brian Franczak, franczakb@macewan.ca
    Research Area: Mixtures of contaminated shifted asymmetric Laplace factor analyzers

  • Dr. Nicolae Strungaru, strungarun@macewan.ca
    Research Areas: Mathematics of aperiodic order; physical quasi-crystals

  • Dr. Adi Tcaciuc, tcaciuca@macewan.ca
    Research Areas: Functional analysis; Operator theory

Physical Sciences

  • Dr. Matthew Ross, rossm48@macewan.ca
    Research Area: Fates and effects of environmental pollutants

  • Dr. Mark Furze, furzem@macewan.ca

  • Dr. Anna Pienkowski, pienkowskia@macewan.ca
    Research Area: Marine environments of Arctic Canada past, present and future

  • Dr. Samuel Mugo, mugos@macewan.ca
    Research Area: Polymer nanomaterials for portable sensing and encapsulation; 3D fabrication from biomaterials

  • Dr. Erin Walton, waltone5@macewan.ca
    Research Area: Shock metamorphism of astromaterials, with an emphasis on Martian meteorites

Psychology

  • Dr. Trevor Hamilton, hamiltont9@macewan.ca
    Research Area: Pharmacological and environmentally-induced changes in fish behavior

  • Dr. Christopher Striemer, striemerc@macewan.ca
    Research Area: Cognitive neuroscience of attention, perception and visuomotor control.

 

Deadlines

Application deadline: March 30, 2018