Medal of Excellence

With the Medal of Excellence, we recognize outstanding contributions and achievements by individuals from many fields and sectors—academic, social, economic, cultural, artistic and political—at the local, national or international levels.

Award recipients


  • Chief Victor Buffalo, former chief, Samson Cree Nation


  • Roger Charest

  • Jens Lindemann


  • Robert Baker

  • Dr. Fred Fletcher

  • James Marsh

  • Oliver Kamau


  • Linda Cook



Meet the 2017 medallists

At Spring 2017 convocation, Medals of Excellence were presented to musician Jens Lindemann and broadcaster Roger Charest.

Jens Lindemann's story

Roger Charest's story


Distinguished Citizen Award

Prior to the establishment of the Medal of Excellence in 2015, MacEwan University honoured excellence in the community with the Distinguished Citizen Award. 

Past Distinguished Citizens