Board of Governors Research Chairs announced

June 9, 2020 | Science, Business
MacEwan University has announced its newest Board of Governors Research Chairs, Dr. Cristina Anton and Dr. Fernando Angulo-Ruiz.

“It is my pleasure to be able to announce the 2020 Board of Governors Research Chairs,” says Carolyn Graham, chair of the Board of Governors. “This program both recognizes and celebrates the exceptional research talent among the university’s faculty members, and supports innovation and high-impact work tied to the university’s priorities.”

Each year, up to two faculty members are named Board of Governors Research Chairs for demonstrating exceptional scholarly distinction and a commitment to the university’s pillars – student-engaged research, personal learning experiences and being an engaged university.

“This program offers additional flexibility to its recipients to pursue work that highlights for the wider community the best of MacEwan scholarship,” says Dr. Craig Monk, Provost and Vice-President, Academic. “Our newest Chairs will play an important role in building further our culture of research and creative activity.”

Anton and Angulo-Ruiz will serve two-year terms as research chairs, continuing to advance the profile of research, scholarly and creative activities at the university as outlined in the Research Strategic Plan. They join current research chairs Dr. Shelley Boulianne and Dr. Erin Walton, whose terms run from 2019 to 2021.

Meet the new Board of Governors Research Chairs



Dr. Cristina Anton is a professor of mathematics and statistics who holds two PhDs – one from the University of Alberta in applied mathematics and a second in probability and statistics from the Center for Mathematical Statistics of the Romanian Academy.

Anton’s current research interests are numerical schemes for stochastic differential equations and statistical machine learning algorithms. In addition to her theoretical work in mathematics, she has participated in industry-related projects with applications to aeronautics, geophysics and cytotoxicity assessment. Cristina has supervised undergraduate and graduate students for several research projects, and organizes math clubs and competitions to promote excellence in mathematical education for elementary, junior high and high school students.

In 2018, Cristina was also awarded MacEwan’s Distinguished Teaching Award.


Dr. Fernando Angulo-Ruiz is an associate professor in marketing. His research examines factors that influence firms' marketing capabilities and the consequences they have on performance. Lately he has been exploring hybrid firms (firms that balance profit and social objectives), and he has also studied Indigenous businesses, women-led businesses and firms from emerging countries.

Angulo-Ruiz’s research, which appears in world-class journals, has received several awards and significant funding, and is used by policymakers and organizations. He has been actively involved in training MacEwan students through research assistantships, co-authorship, thesis supervision, independent studies and mentorship to publish.

In 2015, he was also awarded MacEwan’s Distinguished Teaching Award


2020 Distinguished Research Award

Congratulations to Dr. Chris Striemer

2020 Distinguished Teaching Awards

“Teaching award winners, recognized by their colleagues after having been acknowledged by their students themselves, represent so much of that to which we all aspire as faculty members here.”


Gift of time yields partnerships, papers and potential future researchers

Outgoing Board of Governors research chairs reflect on their two years in the role.

Get MacEwan University news delivered to your inbox.
Sign up for our weekly e-newsletter