Our People

Isabelle Sperano

Assistant Professor, Bachelor of Design

PhD (Laval)

On Leave

11-422B, Allard Hall
11110 – 104 Avenue
Edmonton, AB


Dr. Sperano has a PhD in information architecture. In her thesis, she analyzed experts' discourse related to the assessment of information-intensive digital spaces. She also completed a master's degree in interaction design and a bachelor's degree in graphic design, technical communication and education.

Dr. Sperano embraces a systemic, social and sustainable view of interaction design and information. This approach reveals itself in her teaching, notably by raising student awareness about the importance of taking user needs into account, developing a deep understanding of information behaviours and using holistic frameworks to elaborate sustainable solutions. In order to aid and support the decision-making process of the designers, Dr. Sperano also studies the development of innovative ways to visually describe information-rich ecosystems and interactions with their users. She focuses on finding common avenues of reflection for scientific research, teaching and practice in interaction design and information architecture. As she is constantly looking to widen her perspectives, she is invariably involved in interdisciplinary research teams with technical communication, education, information science, psychology and computer science researchers and practitioners.

Available to supervise senior students' independent study.

User experience design, information architecture, interaction design, design methods

Teaching and Research Interests


  • DESN240 Introduction to User Experience Design
  • DESN241 Interaction Design 1
  • DESN341 Interaction Design 2
  • DESN 381 Design Issues

Research interests:

  • Interaction design: information architecture, experience design, content strategy (evaluation, conception)
  • Visualization, description, and organization of complex information environments
  • Information behaviour and human information interaction
  • Literacy, sustainable and social design, understanding and use of public information
  • Evaluation of digital content: content inventory and audit
  • Teaching interaction design and information architecture

Selected Publications / Presentations / Conference Papers

Sperano, I. (2017). Content audit for the assessment of digital information space: Definitions and typology. Special Interest Group for Design of Communication, August 13th, Halifax, Canada.

Kavanagh, É., Roberge, J., et Sperano, I. (2017). Typologie exploratoire des affordances textuelles, Pratiques.

Glushko, R.J., Wilde, E., Hemerly, J., Sperano, I., & Perry, R. (2015). Activities in organizing systems. In The Discipline of Organizing (3rd ed.)., Sebastopol, CA: O’Reilly.

Kavanagh, É., Sperano, I., et Roberge, J. (2015). Anatomie et fonctionnement du schéma PANATER en architecture d’information Web, dans C. Beaudet et V. Rey (dir.). L’écriture expert: théories et pratiques, Aix-en-Provence, Presses de l’Université de Provence.

Sperano, I., Roberge, J., & Kavanagh, É. (2014). Enseignement du design numérique au 2e cycle universitaire: former à l’intervention professionnelle, Interfaces numériques, 3(2), 253-268.

Awards / Grants / Fellowships

  • Arts and Science Project Grant (2018)
  • FFAC Project Grant (2018) 
  • Jury’s congratulations, Ph.D thesis (2017)
  • Hydo-Québec, Excellence in Master’s degree (2007)
  • Academic award, Technique d’intégration multimédia (2002)

Professional Associations / Memberships

  • Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
  • Special Interest Group on Design of Communication (SIGDOC)
  • Association francophone pour le savoir (ACFAS)

Boards / Committees


  • Groupe Rédiger, Laval University, Quebec, Canada
  • Faber Sapiens, School of Design, Laval University, Quebec, Canada
  • PREMATT, French Institute of Education, Lyon, France


  • Revue Interface numérique
  • Information Architecture Summit
  • IxDA Education Summit


  • IxDA Education Summit, Organizing Committee (2018)
  • Social Innovation Institute: Community-engaged Scholarship Committee