BOOK of the YEAR

Student Contest

Participate in the student contest and show the university community how the MacEwan Book of the Year inspired you.

The student contest is sponsored by the Centre for Teaching and Learning. 

2022/23 Contest details

Contest opens: March 1, 2023
Deadline to submit: April 4, 2023


Full-time or part-time MacEwan University students are eligible to enter the contest. There is no requirement for good academic standing. The names of award winners, and those who receive honorable mention, are given the option of having their creative work published on the MacEwan Book of the Year contest page.

How to enter

1. All submissions must be accompanied by a cover page that includes your full contact information and the category you are competing in. Include:

  • Name
  • Program and year of study
  • Mailing address
  • Submission category (see below)
  • Phone number(s)
  • Email address
  • Word count of submission

Aside from the cover page, do not put any identifying information on your submission.

Your submission should be saved in electronic form (.docx, PDF, .mp4, .mov etc.) and sent as an attachment or shared file to Please type "Student Contest Entry" in the subject line.

2. Submissions must be submitted electronically.

3. Submission deadline is April 4, 2023.

4. Winners are announced in late April 2023.

For more information, contact


Submissions are adjudicated by MacEwan University faculty, with one prize awarded in each of the three categories. Although every effort is made to reward those entries of high merit, we reserve the right to not award in a category if we feel that no entry is deserving of recognition.

  • Creative projects are inspired by the structure, style, themes and characters of the MacEwan Book of the Year.
  • Both individual and collaborative work is accepted.
  • Creative projects can have a visual component in any medium (e.g., book trailers, video performances, visual designs, music, fine art, etc.). 
  • Submissions should be accompanied by a concise written summary outlining the project’s goals (i.e., what you want to achieve) and the relationship of those goals to the MacEwan Book of the Year.
  • There are two awards in this category.
  • An academic essay analyzes a significant literary or thematic aspect of the MacEwan Book of the Year.
  • Only original, individual, well-documented work is accepted.
  • This submission can be a research essay, personal essay or other type of essay.
  • There is no strict word limit for submissions; however, the suggested range for essays is between 1,000 and 3,500 words.
  • Creative writing submissions are original short stories, flash and micro fiction, poetry, prose poems, monologues, one-act plays or creative non-fiction inspired by the form, content topic or style of the MacEwan Book of the Year.
  • Creative writing submissions must be accompanied by a paragraph that contextualizes how the original piece was inspired or informed by the MacEwan Book of the Year.
  • Submissions should be in standard manuscript format.

Selection and award

Submissions are adjudicated by a selection committee, led by the Centre for Teaching and Learning. Contest winners are awarded $750 through the Centre for Teaching and Learning's Scholarship and Awards fund.

Previous contest winners

  • Layal Zidan (Bachelor of Science) – Critical Essay winner
  • Derek Lantz (Bachelor of Arts) – Creative Writing winner for his short story, Family Values
  • Elise Cheung (Bachelor of Design) – Creative Project winner
  • Rachel Blaak (Bachelor of Design) – Creative Project honourable mention
  • Mary Escano (Studio Arts) – Creative Project honourable mention
  • Thia Ma (Bachelor of Design) – Creative Project honourable mention
  • Rolando Bautista – Creative Project winner
  • Jessica Dubauskas – Critical Essay winner
  • Hannah DeWitt – Critical Essay honorable mention
  • Sharissa Johnson – Creative Project honorable mention
  • Janine Heber – Creative Project honorable mention
  • Jessica Maclean – Creative Project honorable mention
  • Kate Lemke – Creative Project winner
  • Tatiana Dutka –Critical Essay winner
  • Nicole Bork – Creative Writing winner
  • Janelle Foreman – Creative Project winner
  • Miguel Macaraig – Critical Essay winner
  • Desiree Billey – Creative Project honorable mention
  • Mary Douglas – Creative Project honorable mention
  • Caylee McKenzie – Creative Project honorable mention
  • Taylor Lund – Critical Essay honorable mention
  • Paige Wolfe – Critical Essay honorable mention
  • Jonathan Dyck – Creative Project winner
  • Rebecca Regan – Critical Essay winner
  • Elisia Snyder – Creative Project honorable mention
  • Paulina Van Vliet – Creative Project honorable mention
  • Farron Wielinga – Critical Essay honorable mention
  • Carrianne Peters – Creative Project winner
  • Jessica Barratt – Critical Essay winner
  • Sam Darlington – Critical Essay honorable mention
  • Carrie Malin – Critical Essay honorable mention
  • Karla Weder – Critical Essay winner
  • Kaley Pederson – Creative Project winner
  • Chelsea Barlow – Critical Essay winner
  • Devyn Lowe – Creative Project winner
  • Steven Horvath – Critical Essay winner
  • Heather Skinner – Creative Project winner
  • Ariel Lekas – Critical Essay winner